Castlebar Mitchels Host Eugene O’Shea Schools’ Club Tournament

The Breaffy Sports Arena was the venue for the inaugural Eugene O’Shea Memorial Hurling Tournament for hurling school in the Castlebar Mitchels Hurling catchment area. Four schools took part on the day with over sixty boys taking part in the unique indoor hurling event.

In the end it was the St Pats Boys National School team who emerged on top with a win over Scoil Raifteiri in the final. In the Shield final, newcomers Derrywash NS came out on top with a win over Snugboro NS.

Tony Stakelum (Castlebar Mitchels Hurling Chairman) congratulated all four teams involved and thanked the teachers for their support of the event. He also thanked referee Conall O’Donnaill and local schools coordinator Kevin O’Boyle for his work in launching the blitz day. Due to the success of the event, it is hoped that the Eugene O’Shea Memorial Cup will be an annual event in the Castlebar Mitchels coaching calendar.


Semi1: Scoil Raifteiri 11-2 Derrywash 3-2

Semi2: St Pats 7-7 Snugbroro NS 2-2

Shield Final: Derrywash 2-2 Snugbroro 2-0

Cup Final: St Pats BNS 5-5 Scoil Raifteiri 4-3

CE2P0910 St Pats BNS.jpg

CE2P0900 derrywash and shield.jpg

CE2P0894 Snugboro.jpg