Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo

Promoting all aspects of Gaelic Games in Mayo's 174 primary schools.


October 2017

AGM Wednesday, November 8th in Mayo Education Centre. Please spread the word!

Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo AGM will take place in Mayo Education Centre on Wednesday, November 8th at 7.30pm. Please save the date. We urge as many as possible to attend and to consider taking on a role within our organisation. It is only with your help and input that we can make our organisation one of the best in the country for the promotion of our games. 

The meeting will be addressed by Mr Mike Connelly, Chairman of Mayo GAA.

Please submit all motions and proposals to our Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo secretary by email on or before 31st

October 2017 for inclusion on the agenda. If you are submitting a motion, please ensure that you are in attendance on the night to support your proposal.

Eugene O Shea Memorial Schools’ Hurling Tournament

Eugene O Shea Memorial Schools’ Hurling Tournament

Breaffy Indoor Sports Arena

Tuesday, 7th November 2017

Hosted by the Castlebar Mitchels Hurling Club


Event Coordinator: Adrian Hession (0872450566)

Schools Coordinator: Kevin O’Boyle (0873356558)

Referee: Conall O’Donnaill (0876877489)

Goal Umpires: Transition Year Students

Venue Contact: Michael Yates (0868450173)

Photography: Tony Stakelum (0868586842)

Cup Presentations: Mrs Teresa O’Shea / Tony Stakelum (0868586842)

Medal Presentation: John Waldron (0868568281) / Eugene Connolly

School Contacts:

Scoil Raifteiri c/o Mr Padraig Heaney

Snugboro c/o Mr Eoin Shaughnessy

St Pats c/o Mr Seamus Devaney

Derrywash c/o Mr Eamon Tiernan


Tuesday 7th November 2017

Event Time
Players and volunteer arrival at Arena 10.30am
Semi1: Scoil Raifteiri v Derrywash* 11.00am
Semi2: Snugboro v St Pats 11.30am
Shield Final: Runner-Up v Runner-Up 12.00noon
Cup Final: Winner v Winner 12.30am
Presentation of Cup/Shield/Wall-Balls/Medals 1.00pm
End 1.30pm


Match Guidelines:


  • Teams of 9-a-side boys. Panel of 15 maximum.
  • Exception is beginners Derrywash* who will have 9-a-side mixed (boys & girls) team.
  • Games 10 minutes per half.
  • Full rules of hurling apply (Goals & Points).
  • Unlimited substitutions throughout.
  • No tackling/contact close to the walls.
  • In the event of a tie in finals – the trophy is shared.





  • The event controller will coordinate the presentations.
  • The Shield runners-up receive their medals/balls from John Waldron.
  • The Shield winning captain receive the Shield from Tony Stakelum.
  • The Shield winning receive their balls/medal from Eugene Connolly.
  • The Cup runners-up receive their balls/medals from John Waldron.
  • The Cup winning captain receives Cup from Mrs Teresa O’Shea.
  • The Cup winning team receives medals/balls from Eugene Connolly.
  • Final address from Tony Stakelum – Chairman Castlebar Hurling Club.



Feile na nGael 2018

The National U14 Hurling Feile na nGael competition will be hosted by Connacht GAA on the weekend 10th June 2018. All hurling clubs in Connacht are invited to be part of this event. It is planned that Castlebar Mitchels Hurling Club will be a host club for Feile na nGael, and will have a visiting team staying within the club for the weekend festival of hurling.

In preparation for this, the Castlebar Mitchels Hurling Club are looking to recruit new players for 2018 who wish to be part of this momentous National hurling event. It is expected that over 120 hurling teams and over 60 camogie teams will take part in Feile na nGael all over Connacht, in what is the largest underage GAA event on the calendar.

Hurlers born in 2004, 2005 and 2006 are our target audience, and we welcome all four hurling schools within our catchment area to today’s event. We thank all teachers for your promotion of hurling within your school thus far and look forward to working with you in the future. We hope you enjoy todays hurling event.

For further information on joining for Feile na nGael contact Castlebar Mitchel’s Hurling Club Chairman Tony Stakelum on 086-8586842.


Eugene O’Shea Memorial Cup

No history of Castlebar Mitchel’s Hurling Club can be written without paying a small, deserved tribute to Eugene O’Shea RIP. Eugene was instrumental in reactivating hurling in Castlebar in 1981. Eugene O’Shea was chairman of the Hurling Club from 1981 to 1987 when his untimely death took place. Eugene’s sons, Niall, Paul & Aidan all played hurling for the club and county. During Eugene’s term as chairman of the Mayo GAA Hurling Board, the Mayo senior hurling team were promoted up to Division 2 and played with distinction against Tipperary, Laois, Antrim, Dublin and Meath. It was the highest ever status of hurling in Mayo in the National Hurling League. Eugene was a great leader and motivator. He had a very deep interest in all that was Irish but especially hurling. Eugene brought a sense of direction to Mayo hurling. In a remarkable way, his quiet and gentle manner had touched the hearts and minds of all of us who had come to know him so well. He was a man of great principle and character. In every way he was a perfect gentleman. Ar dheis De ar a anam.


Andy Walsh Memorial Hurling Cup

Andy Walsh Memorial Hurling Cup



Tuesday 10th October 2017


Group 1 Group 2
Ballyvary NS Balla NS
Culleens NS Behy NS
Straide NS Knockanillo NS


Event Time
Players and volunteer arrival 10.30am
Rd1: Ballyvary v Culleens   & Balla v Behy 11.00am
Rd2: Culleens v Straide & Behy v Knockanillo 11.30am
Rd3: Ballyvary v Straide & Balla v Knockanillo 12.00noon
Cup Final: First v First 12.30pm
Shield Final: Second v Second 12.30pm
Plate Final: Third v Third 12.30pm
Presentation of Cup/Shield/Balls 1.00pm
End 1.30pm

Match Guidelines:


  • Games 11-a-side and may be mixed teams.
  • Games 10 minutes per half.
  • Full rules of hurling apply.
  • Unlimited substitutions throughout.
  • In the event of a tie in finals – the trophy is shared.

**Click here for full details**


Today’s event is in memory of Andy Walsh RIP of Curelaim, Turlough, Castlebar. Andy’s
early involvement in the GAA stems back to the Ballyvary GAA Club who played football
in East Mayo back in the 1960’s. Due to emigration the Ballyvary GAA Club disbanded in
1972. A lack of playing facilities in the Ballyvary area encouraged Andy and a team of
local volunteers to fundraise and develop the Ballyvary Community Pitch throughout the
early 2000’s. In 2005 the Ballyvary Hurling Club was established and Andy Walsh was its
first ever chairman. He also continued in his role as groundsman of the Ballyvary
Community Pitch and worked diligently to make the pitch one of the best GAA surfaces
in the county. Andy took great pride when the Mayo Senior Footballs and Senior Hurlers
both used the Ballyvary Community Pitch to train their teams in 2008. After an illness
Andy Walsh passed away in 2011, but his GAA legacy lives on through the Ballyvary
Community Pitch and the Ballyvary Hurling Club.

INTO Mini 7s Age Limits for 2017/18

INTO Mini 7s Age Limits for 2017/18


  • The age limits as set out below apply to the 2017/ 2018 mini sevens competitions.
  • Age limits for Boys or Girls
  • Total enrolment of Boys only or Girls only: (3rd to 6th class inclusive

Children born on or after:

Enrolment D.o.B.

200 pupils   –                 1st January 2006

170  –  199 pupils   –    1st December 2005.

140  –  169 pupils  –     1st November 2005.

110  –  139    –               1st October 2005.

80  –  109   –                  1st September  2005.

50  –  79    –                    1st August  2005.

30  –  49   –                     1st July  2005.

0  –   29      –                   1st June  2005.

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑