Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo

Promoting all aspects of Gaelic Games in Mayo's 174 primary schools.

Return to Play and Affiliation 2022

Dear Teachers, Colleagues and Friends,

We are ready for a return to play!

Your local Area Secretary will be in touch with you soon to arrange local divisional competitions in the usual way. We hope to have all of these wrapped up by the 2nd week in May, allowing us to progress to our County Quarter Finals in good time.

There will be no Mini 7s this year.

Please complete the attached Affiliation Form (Google Forms) at your earliest convenience.

We are not seeking an Affiliation Fee this year but it is absolutely vital that all schools complete this form as our school data and contact list is quite out of date at this stage. The details you submit will be shared with your local Area Secretary this week to allow them to proceed with organising fixtures.

A list of local Area Secretaries may be found here:

Divisions are as follows:

Div 5  (2 Teachers)

7-a-side Boys / 5-a-side Girls

Div 4 (3 Teachers)

7-a-side Boys / 7-a-side Girls

Div 3 (4 Teachers)

9-a-side Boys / 7-a-side Girls

Div 2 (5 – 8 Teachers)

11-a-side Boys, 9-a-side Girls

Div 1 (9+ Teachers)

15-a-side Boys, 11-a-side Girls

Div 6

We hope to host a “Small Schools Day” later in the year for schools that are unable to field teams in Div 5.

Affiliation Form:

Le meas,–

Dan Charlton

Runaí, Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo

Mini 7s County Finals Results


Congratulations to Cong Girls and Ballinrobe Boys who were crowned Mini 7s County Champions in Bekan today.

11:00 AM Girls’ semis
Pitch A: Cong bt. Snugboro
Pitch B: Ardagh bt. Bohola
11:30 AM Boys’ semis
Pitch A: Ballinrobe bt. Scoil Raifteirí
Pitch B: Crossmolina bt. Derrinabroc & Brusna
12 Midday – Girls’ Final
Cong bt. Ardagh
12:40 PM – Boys’ Final
Ballinrobe bt. Crossmolina
Thanks to our referees, John O Boyle and Peter Geraghty. Also Connacht GAA in Bekan and Mayo Games Manager, Billy McNicholas.

Mini 7s Semi Finals and Finals Details – Bekan CoE, Dec 10th

A Chairde,

Congrats on making this stage of the competition. The semis and finals will take place at the Centre of Excellence, Bekan on Tuesday 10th December. The schedule is as follows:
11:00 AM Girls’ semis 9 mins-a-half
Pitch A: Cong v Snugboro – Ref Peter Geraghty
Pitch B: Bohola v Ballina/Erris winners – Ref John O Boyle
11:30 AM Boys’ semis 9 mins-a-half
Pitch A: Scoil Raifteirí v Ballinrobe – Peter Geraghty
Pitch B: Derrinabroc & Brusna v Ballina/Erris winners – Ref John O Boyle
12 Midday – Girls’ Final 10 mins-a-half – Ref Peter Geraghty
12:40 PM – Boys’ Final 10 mins-a-half – Ref John O Boyle
In the case of a draw 4 mins-a-half of extra time will be played. If still tied another 3 mins-a-half of extra time will be played and if still tied 3 mins-a-half  will continue until we have a clear winner.
Squads are restricted to 10. Each school is asked to provide a squad list to the referees before the semi-finals. The same squad is to be used for both semis and finals. 
I would like to take this opportunity to thank the COE for providing us with the use of their facilities and to Billy McNicolas and his coaches for helping us organise the day.
Wishing you all the best.
Kind regards,
Neil Reilly

Election of Officers 2019/20

County Committee elected at AGM November 14th, 2019


Richard Goggins, Fahy NS – (098) 41531

Assistant Chair:

James Armstrong, St Patrick’s BNS, Castlebar


Dan Charlton, Craggagh NS,

Assistant Secretary:

Neil Reilly, Bekan NS, (094) 9380311


Michael Bracken, Carracastle NS (094) 9255035

Assistant Treasurer:

Bríd Staunton, Straide NS


Brian McDermott, St Attracta’s NS, Charlestown (094) 9254905

Hurling Officer:

Adrian (087) 2450566

Camogie Officer:

Maria Coyne, Derrywash NS (094) 90 23819

Handball Officer:

Brendan Donnellan, St Aidan’s NS, Kiltimagh – (094) 9381679

Rounders Officer:

Bríd Tuohy, Breaffy NS, Castlebar – (094) 90 24699

County Board Delegate:

Neil Riley, Bekan NS

Delegates to Cumann na mBunscol Chonnachta:

Aodán Ó Caoimh & Declan Kirrane 

Twitter: @MayoCnmB

Local Area Secretaries

For the purposes of Cumann na mBunscol activities and competitions, County Mayo is divided into 9 local areas, each with its own sub-committee.

Competitions are organised at local level up to county 1/4 finals. The County Committee then takes over to run semi-finals and finals centrally.

Area 1 – Erris – Linda Barrett, Bingamstown NS – (097) 82223

Area 2 – Achill – John Gallagher, Scoil Naomh Pádraig, Saile – (098) 45767

Area 3 – Ballina – Colin Syron, Breaffy NS – (096) 22271

Area 4 – Castlebar – Christine Gordon, Crimlin NS – (094) 9025432

Area 5 – West – Richard Goggins, Fahy NS – (098) 41531

Area 6 – South – Aodán Ó Caoimh, Kilmaine NS – (093) 33535

Area 7 – Claremorris – Declan Kirrane, Ballindine NS -(094) 9364204

Area 8 – Ballaghaderren/Charlestown – Michael Bracken, Carracastle NS – (094) 9255035

Area 9 – Kiltimagh/Swinford – Teresa Mulligan, Bohola NS – (094) 9384271


Rounders – Tom Higgins Perpetual Cup – June 8th

Our annual rounders competition will take place in Breaffy on June 7th, starting at 10am.

  • One team per school
  • Squad of 12 players
  • 9 players on team
  • Teams are mixed gender – must be at least 4 boys / 4 girls

Entry form below: any queries are to be directed to Bríd Touhy in Breaffy NS


Football County Finals (Day 2) Monday June 10th

Football County Finals (Day 1) Thursday 6th June

Cumann na mBunscol Semi Finals Day 2 – Thurs, May 23 – click link for full schedule:

Cumann na mBunscol Football Semi Finals Day 1 – Wed, May 22

Blog at

Up ↑