Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo

Promoting all aspects of Gaelic Games in Mayo's 174 primary schools.


March 2018

New @MayoGAA coaching programme for primary schools

This weekend sees the launch of a new primary schools coaching programme which will commence after Easter.


This year, Mayo GAA Coaching & Games Committee in conjunction with Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo are launching a new coaching programme for primary schools.

This unique programme has been developed by teachers and the Mayo GAA Games Development Officers, with input from members of the PDST (Professional Development Service for Teachers) PE team. The programme will combine elements of the GAA’s “Fun Do” programme and the PDST’s “Move Well, Move Often” physical literacy programme.

Children will receive weekly sessions in their school with our Games Development Officers which will target the 15 Fundamental Movement Skills and specific football skills all in an environment that encourages fun and participation for children of all abilities. The coaching will focus on children in 3rd and 4th classes.*

Participation in this programme is the perfect way for schools to begin their “GAA 5 Star Centre” journey.

More information on this programme will be published here over the coming weeks.




*In small schools, other classes may be brought in to make up numbers.


Spring Exhibitions Return! We’ll be playing at half-time this Sunday! @MayoGAA

Our Spring Exhibitions return after an extended break!


Best of luck to all participating on Sunday during Mayo V Tyrone. There’ll be camogie and boys’ football on show.


Tooreen Girls

Alice Curran

Aoibhín Lynskey

Kate Doyle

Anna Murray

Cathy Greally

Éabha Delaney

Rebekah Monaghan

Kate Tener

Laura Flanagan


Snugboro Girls

Hannah Hauttmann

Ciara Kennedy

Sarah Dunne

Hazel Harcourt

Niamh Cloherty

Leona Buckley

Treasa Conway

Clodagh Quinn

Ellen Shaw


Kiltimagh Boys

Oisin MC Nicholas

Hugh Langan

Daire McGovern

Lorcan Burke

Believe Igharo

Andrew Maloney

Jonathan Houlihan

Sean Mallee

Conor Prendergast


South Mayo Small Schools Selection

Adam Molloy  Lehinch NS

Padraic Godwin  Cloghans Hill NS

Cameron Steel  Cloghans Hill NS

Cian Mangan  Cloghans Hill

James Duffy  Roundfort NS

Cian Connolly  Roundfort NS

Adam O Boyle  Roundfort NS

Finian Walsh  Roundfort NS

Tommy Mallon  Roundfort NS


Young Whistlers (all Fahey NS)

Football: Matthew McNamara, Paul Jennings, Aodhán Feehan

Camogie: Ella Blondel, Anna O’Donnell, Kelsey O’Donnell

Sports Quiz 2018 – Congratulations to our winners, Claremorris BNS! Details:

Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Mhaigh Eo Sports Quiz 2018


Claremorris winners 2018
2018 Winners Claremorris BNS

Congratulations to all who participated in our Sports Quiz which took place on Friday, 23rd of February. Well done to our winners, Claremorris BNS who prevailed in an excellent contest which saw an incredible standard of answering!

Thanks to our quizmaster Pat Dowling, to James Feeney who set the questions and to An Sportlán for facilitating us. Also, thanks to all the teachers who helped out on the night and indeed all those who organised and facilitated local quizzes around the county earlier this year.

Neil Reilly

Belmullet 2nd
2018 Runners Up Belmullet NS
Foxford 3rd
2018 3rd Place Foxford NS

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑