The Mayo Cuman na mBunscol Hurling Mini 7’s finals day was held in Castlebar recently, with four teams battling it out for the coveted schools title.

The first semi final saw the Carracastle/Derrinabroc amalgamation defeating a fancied Scoil Phadraig (Westport) side by 2-5 to 1-7 after extra time.
The second semi final was more clear cut as Tooreen NS had four points to spare over newcomers Claremorris BNS on a 1-6 to 1-2 scoreline.

After Scoil Phadraig defeated Claremorris BNS by five points in the third/fourth place playoff, it was then onto the main event between the two earlier semi final winners.

In a close fought game, it was Tooreen captain Ciaran Doherty who was the difference between the sides as he bagged a hat-trick of goals to send the title back to Tooreen NS.

After the event – Sean Mulchrone representing Cuman na mBunscoll – presented the Hurling Mini 7s Shield to Ciaran Doherty – captain of the succesful Tooreen side.

Semi1: Carracastle NS /Derrinabroc NS 2-5 Scoil Phadraig (Westport) 1-7 (aet)
Semi2: Tooreen NS 1-6 Claremorris BNS 1-2
Play-Off: Scoil Phadraig (Westport) 1-7 Claremorris BNS 0-5
Final: Tooreen NS 4-6 Carracastle NS/Derrinabroc NS 2-3
Referees: James McGrath & Mike Herr.